I conducted a Creative Writing Workshop at the Per-University and Foundation School at Taylor’s College.

The students were entering a short story competition. Well, a very short story competition of only 500 words. Being a Halloween themed competition, I was, of course, considered the most suitable person to run the workshop!

Screen Shot 2019-11-15 at 10.30.58 am.png

Such a short story limit was coincidental as my piece of very short fiction called “Three Dead Chickens” was recently published in Horror Without Borders.

41zYAuw+B7L.jpg
“Three Dead Chickens” are buried within its pages

We covered almost all aspects of creative writing including point-of-view, description, dialogue, setting, plot and character. I spoke of my experience as a writer and where I got my ideas from. I hope my seminar was of help and I wish the best of luck to all of those who entered the competition.

File_000-4
The Taylor’s students and I

Writing is not easy. Writing a short piece is not any easier and can actually be tougher.

But writing is fulfilling and I truly recommend it whether to students, grown-ups and those in between!