I used to listen to the Bee Gees. I was six and we had the soundtrack to the movie S.W.A.L.K. My favourite song was “My World”. My brother’s was “Melody Fair”. I was a big fan.

Seven years later, in the UK, I was astounded to hear “Stayin’ Alive” and all the other Saturday Night Fever songs were from the same group. Falsettos, dance rhythms like I’d never heard before. Welcome to the disco era.

But then came the backlash. Disco over-kill. But I remained an open fan despite teasing school friends and even until recently some so-called grown-ups, say incredulously: “What, you like the Bee Gees?”

In 2000, they played a concert at Stadium Australia. I refused to see them in such a massive venue. They’d be mere specks on a stage. I’d see them some other time, I told myself, at a less super-sized auditorium.

Three years later, Maurice died at 54. Now I would never see them live. C’est la vie.

A couple of years back, Robin was playing solo in Melbourne. I had tickets but then the dates changed and it became most inconvenient to go. So I didn’t.

Now he’s gone too.

Robin had a distinct soulful voice. He was a more successful solo artist than brother Barry.

The Bee Gees will be remembered most for their disco hits. But their tunes from the 1960s and early 70s still resonate for me.

There are less well-know songs too which have stood the test of time. I recommend: “Wind of Change”, “Subway,” “Greatest Man in the World”, “Fanny Be Tender with My Love”, “Come on Over”, “Can’t Keep A Good Man Down” and “Edge of the Universe”.

You’d also enjoy all their tracks from the S.W.A.L.K soundtrack.

I certainly did when I was six.

I still do.

 

