“I’m going to be in Kuala Lumpur for one day,” said an acquittance. “Do you have any suggestions?”

The lady was flying into KLIA in the evening, staying at the airport hotel and would be flying out the next evening to Europe. She had only one day in KL.

Being the city of my birth and a regular visitor, I’d never visited as a tourist. There was some mention of Batu Caves but the last time I was there was as a teenager. So I scratched my head and thought of my recent visits and where I used to work 20 years ago.

I sent her this email:

“I suggest walking around the area close to CENTRAL MARKET in the morning whilst it’s still relatively cool. The Klang river is just next to the market.

If you follow it upstream (5 min walk) it’ll take you to JAMEK MOSQUE. The mosque is built where the Klang river meets the Gombak river. This is where the city began as a tin mining village. There are old shophouses worth exploring here for this is the old part of KL. Petaling Street and China town are here.

Nearby are the Moorish-styled law courts (Sultan Abdul Samad building on Jalan (Road) Raja Laut). As the weather hots up, backtrack to the CENTRAL MARKET for some air-conditioning, snacks and handicrafts.

Next, head to KLCC (Petronas Twin Towers) to view the stunning architecture of the twin towers and to visit the lovely shops inside. My favourite is the Isetan department store. You’ll find some real bargains at Parkson Grand. KL, after all, is a shopping mecca.

Have an early dinner at Little Penang (on the 4th floor). I suggest the Pie Tee for starters, Char Kuey Teow for mains and have an Ice Kacang as your drink (The Ice Kacang doubles as both dessert and drink!) They’re open for dinner too. If you can’t get in, Madam Kwan’s is a delicious alternative. I’ve attached the menu (Ha ha!) Eating is a Malaysian hobby!

Feelin' hungry?

TRAIN TIPS: You get off Malaysian airlines at KLIA (the airport). You can buy your return ticket at the ticket booth in the baggage collection hall. The 30 minute ride into KL terminates at KL SENTRAL station which also connects to the trains. From KL SENTRAL catch a train to PASAR SENI station for Central Market. The same train line will also take you to KLCC station for the twin towers. From there you can train it back to KL SENTRAL and then to KLIA. Try to keep to the trains as traffic is bad. You’ll find useful info and a train map here.”

So, that was my tourist-guide advice.

Incidentally, whilst looking up KL train maps on the net, I stumbled across a map created by my brother! Strange what you come across on the internet. 🙂

Brother's been busy!

Anyway, I hope the lady has a good time.

What would you suggest for a one day in KL?

