I’ve been called a Green.

Well actually, I’ve been accused of being a Green.

No, I’m not a member of the Green party. But I do drive a hybrid car.

I’ve been called a Greenie because:

1. I make sure all paper and recyclable materials go into the green wheelie bin.

2. Sometimes, I buy organic.

3. I prefer natural materials rather than plastic.

4. I turn off unnecessary lights.

5. I read labels on food tins, trying to avoid additives and preservatives.

6. I do occasionally water my vege patch.

7. Sometimes, I go on about Peak Oil.

8. I mostly buy stuff only when I need to.

I don’t think I’m hurting anyone by thinking about the environment or my family’s health.

But I’ve been accused of being a Greenie.

It seems that not everyone approves of this behaviour (which I doubt has any great impact on the environment anyway). Perhaps they think I’m just being sanctimonious or holier-than-thou.

There is a group of people who have reacted against the Green movement. They couldn’t be bothered with recycling, they purchase thoughtlessly, use electricity wantonly and, on the face of it, appear not to give a stuff about the environment. A lot of them might be climate sceptics too.

These people are what I call the Brownies.

They do not like the sanctimonious Greenies. They want to carry on as before.

But I reckon I’m not a Greenie.

I’m just human.

So Brownies, don’t hate me …

