I left Ampang yesterday to meet a friend for dinner at Bangsar.

I drove off at 6.30pm and arrived at my destination an hour later. It was bumper to bumper all the way. I know this is not news to you and what fool tries to make that journey at that time anyway?

What struck me most about the hour in the car was that some people have to do this commute every day. Twice too … going to work and back!

As I glanced at the harrowed faces of my fellow drivers, the couple with a toddler on the motorbike and the policeman hopelessly trying to divert the traffic, I wondered how could society have allowed this to happen to its inhabitants. How could we allow such misery?

Surely, we should not all just accept our lot in life? The hours wasted and to be wasted in traffic jams?

It both saddened and angered me.

Knowing I was late, I got to Bangsar and rang my friend.

“Sorry,” he said. “I’m still at the office.”

So I had dinner alone.

We did meet up later. But if I’d known he couldn’t make dinner, I would have left at 8.30pm and it would have taken me perhaps half the time to get there.

It was good to meet up again with my friend, even though I thought him most inconsiderate.

The journey home took 15 minutes!

