With my head upon the pillow, I spied the eight-legged creature.

I slid out of the blanket, grabbed the insect spray and zapped it. But, to my surprise, it still clung there. It was still moving around half a minute later. What was the matter? Why didn’t the spider die? I checked the spray can.

Mortein.

Good. I didn’t use my after shave on it.

So what was wrong?

Below the brand “Mortein,” it declared “Flying Insect Spray”. So that’s why the spider didn’t die. Spider’s don’t fly.

MORTEIN_Aerosol_Insect_Killer

Welcome to the world of product diversification.

It’s a most irritating, if not expensive, world.

Companies caught on to the idea of taking a good product and create a range of them, which is supposed to give the consumer more choice. Yet what it causes it confusion and complexity and, ultimately, more money out of your own pocket.

I often like to buy cans of tuna as it’s quick meal to have with toast. (Mix it with mayonnaise, lemon juice and some lettuce to make it even more delicious!) But buying a can of tuna is no simple matter. You now have the choice of tuna in oil or brine or spring water. Tuna mixed with tomatoes, capsicum, spring onions or herbs. Tuna in chunks or flaked.

The choice seems to be endless. Finding a standard can of tuna amongst all the different variations is a task in itself!

tuna2

Tried buying coconut milk lately? You now have the choice of lite, standard and cream. Perhaps just get one of each? Because that’s what the company that sells it wants you to do.

In this increasingly complex world, I’d go for simplicity … any time.

I hope the spider did eventually die. But I couldn’t find it’s body.

Perhaps it crawled into my bed …

