Last night, the 1980 movie, The Shining, was on TV. I’d seen it a couple of times before but not for several years. So I thought I’d just watch the first 5 minutes. I ended up watching the whole thing!

the-shining

The Shining is not only an example of superb book, but one that’s been made into a captivating movie. It stars one of my favourite actors, Jack Nicholson (I just love As Good As It Gets) and it’s directed by the renown Stanley Kubrick who also directed 2001 A Space Odyssey. Stephen King was not too happy with the movie adaptation of his book, but I don’t think a JK Rowling “word of word” adaptation of Monsieur Harry Potter would have done Kubrick’s cinematic skills justice.

Yes, The Shining is a horror movie and was written by Stephen King at the height of his writing powers. Both movies and book rely on suspense. Not blood and gore like so many movies nowadays. I’ll have to admit that I’m no fan of horror movies. (Yes, you heard me right … Tunku Halim, the horror writer!)

There doesn’t seem to be any finesse or skill involved in today’s horror films. You know what’s going to happen. You know there’s going to be lots of blood, so and so is going to stupidly enter the spooky house all alone (calling out “Hello? Anyone Home?”) and is going to be slaughtered … it’s all so very boring. There’s no story. No character development. Ultimately, you don’t care.

Not so with The Shining. If you haven’t seen it, please do so … it’s great. It’s a movie that …. errm, just shines!

