I was delighted to discover that an article on me is out today in Kosmo, the Malay magazine. I’d like to thank Fatimi for her in-depth interviewing and extremely fast work.

There’s a photo of me reading my short story collection, Gravedigger’s Kiss. There’s also one of me and my family on holidays. There’s also a shot of Eric Forbes (my editor) and I at the launching of Juriah’s Song at MPH.

Here’s an excerpt:

Menjadi seorang putera raja bukan semudah yang kita sangka, terutamanya jika si putera memilih untuk menjadi seorang penulis.

“Tidak (mudah) sama sekali. Saya seorang penulis. Jika saya seorang ahli perniagaan, mungkin menjadi sebahagian daripada keluarga diraja dapat membantu.

“Seorang penulis memerlukan pembacanya untuk menemukan persamaan antara mereka dengan penulis.

“Saya sememangnya sentiasa berada searas dengan pembaca saya tetapi pembaca mungkin masih merasakan jurang kerana saya seorang kerabat diraja.

“Sesetengah orang mempunyai pandangan awal tentang maksud menjadi seorang Tunku. Sedangkan kebanyakan daripada kami menjalani hidup yang biasa saja,” ujar penulis genre seram, Tunku Halim Tunku Abdullah, 44.

One thing about doing an interview is that it makes you think honestly about yourself and your feelings on certain subjects. It sound a bit obvious, I know. For those of you who are impressed at my excellent command of the Malay language, the interview was actually done in English!

I went to another BBQ today. It was with the Karate club. We didn’t do any kicks and punches … we just ate and chatted. It was another good BBQ. I’ll be able to lose a few calories tomorrow at our Karate lesson.

