I wish I had the photos from the creative writing course I conducted at MPH at One Utama last week. They were a great bunch of students who were not shy to participate and were eager to learn. I’m lucky to have met such nice people I hope they took away something good from the course

It really was a fun workshop. The students read from Malaysian texts, were enthusiastic in their own writing which they were happy to read aloud to the class. We covered setting, character, dialogue, the process of writing and publishing and many other areas. We talked about cliches and I managed to confuse myself over similes and metaphors.

For me it was a powerful learning experience. I knew what I did well and what I could have improved on. Overall, it’s been the most memorable part of my trip to KL.

Here’s an extract from a lovely letter from Matilda:

Dear Tunku Halim

Once again, I’d like to express my heartfelt gratitude n tks to you for so unselfishly sharing

* your most invaluable knowledge,
* your vast insights to the various writers’ pitfalls that wud make us stand out (or totally be knocked out of the scene as the case may be), n
* your immense n priceless experiences on how to get started in the very first instance . . .
It is unfortunate that the time was so very short as I’m sure many of us do really have lots more queries to ask n probably need that much more reassurances from you…

The Meet the Author session at Borders The Curve went really well and there was a good crowd too and many books sold. TV3 were also there and took quite a bit of footage.
dsc01152.jpg
Here’s a photo of me signing books (courtesy of NN)

I had my debut on TV3 this morning. It was on at 7.30am, so it was a bit early for you late night bloggers. It was in Malay too . . . and I, making a rojak of Malay and English, survived!

I’ve got 2 events on this Saturday 26 Jan:

1. MPH Breakfast Club at MPH Bangsar Village 2 at 11am

2. “Readings” at Seksan’s 3.30-6pm (67 Jln Tempinis Satu, Lucky Garden, Bangsar)

Hope to see you there!

