Over the weekend, we went to a friends 40th birthday party. It was one of those dress up ones. The invite said “come as your favourite character”!

The best dressed I reckon was Homer and Marge Simpson (I really wish I had a photo!). There was Ziggy Stardust who was really cool. Elvis and the Bananas in pajamas were hitting the dance floor too. My wife went as Moriticia, from the Addams family.

As for me, did I have to think long and hard about this one? Course not.

I didn’t have a pontianak outfit so I choose second best, Dracula!

thdraculagrave2.jpg

Hmmmm . . . I’m not sure how I ended up in a graveyard though. It’s just one of those places I tend to gravitate to!

Bram Stoker, author of that esteemed novel, was inspired by the historical figure Vlad the Impaler. Vlad was a particularly evil prince and was rumoured to drink blood.

One of the early Dracula movies was Nosferatu, eine Symphonie des Grauens released in 1922. It was a silent, black and white movie and quite deliciously disturbing. I really enjoyed it. And in that movie Count Dracula, like yours truly, was irreedemably bald!

So if I invited you to a dress-up party, which character would you come as?

